The array of awards and recognition reflect the quality and benefits of our programs, the measurable impact on those we serve and the strength of character of the our leadership.

Awards and Recognition


The Center Pole has received an array of awards and recognitions that are a reflection of the quality and benefits of our programs, the measureable impact on those we serve and the strength of character of the Center Pole leadership.

Unsung Heroes of Compassion

Awarded to Peggy Wellknown Buffalo

by the Dalai Lama

San Francisco 2014

This popular book featured people who make Montana unique!

Wisdom in Action, a California Bay Area non-profit organization is for the fourth time presenting Unsung Heroes of Compassion on February 23, 2014 at the Ritz Carlton hotel in San Francisco, California.


This event is a celebration of the extraordinary effort of 51 individuals from around the globe who work to alleviate the suffering of others without expectation of reward. In addition to their acknowledgement by His Holiness the Dalai Lama, the event is a call to action—a reminder that the well-being of our communities and, in fact our world, is ours to shape through our own daily acts of kindness and compassion.


Although His Holiness the Dalai Lama is a world-renowned Buddhist teacher, this is not a religious or political event, nor is Buddhism or Tibet its focus. The honorees are a diverse group of men and women representing different faiths, countries of origin and ways of working in the world. The characteristics they share with the world include kindness, quiet dedication to others and belief in the importance of caring for our underserved brothers and sisters.


2014 Unsung Heroes of Compassion come from and/or are doing compassionate work in the following countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Ethiopia, Honduras, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Korea, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestine, Peru, Sudan, South Africa, Thailand, Uganda, United States of America, Zambia.

Youth Entrepreneurship of the Year Award

The Center Pole received this award from the National Center for American Indian Enterprise Development in 2009


Center Pole is awarded prestigious "Firekeepers" for Indigenous Development from Seventh Generation Fund.


Petra Foundation Fellowship 
Awarded to Peggy White Wellknown Buffalo 
Washington, DC 2009

The Petra Foundation was established in 1988 to sustain the trajectory of Petra Tölle Shattuck’s life by honoring the kind of people she most admired—unsung individuals making distinctive contributions to the rights, autonomy and dignity of others. Each year since then, through a national search and nomination process, the Petra Foundation has recognized such leaders as Petra Fellows.


This popular book featured people who make Montana unique!

The Center Pole is a 501 c 3 Native non-profit organization. All contributions are tax deductible.


The generous contributions of individuals, corporations and foundations allows us to maintain our programs and services.

The Center Pole

The Crow Indian Reservation

PO Box 71

3391 I-90 Frontage Road Garryowen, MT 59031


(3 miles south of the Little Bighorn Battlefield National Monument)



Subscribe for Updates